Instagram reverts back to original Terms of Service

In a blog from Kevin Systrom (co-founder) Instagram is going to keep using the same Terms of Service since they launched in 2010.

Going forward, rather than obtain permission from you to introduce possible advertising products we have not yet developed, we are going to take the time to complete our plans, and then come back to our users and explain how we would like for our advertising business to work.

The internet was in uproar this week after the announcement of the new TOS.  From concerns on how the photos would be used, if your kids pics could be sold, among other issues.  The blog also goes on saying..

You also had deep concerns about whether under our new terms, Instagram had any plans to sell your content. I want to be really clear: Instagram has no intention of selling your photos, and we never did. We don’t own your photos – you do.

This is the subject that caused the biggest uproar and got a few high-profile users like National Geographic to suspended their accounts in light of the new changes.  Apparently we were misinformed of their intentions.  The following is copied directly from the TOS that caused such an uproar.

You agree that a business or other entity may pay us to display your username, likeness, photos (along with any associated metadata), and/or actions you take, in connection with paid or sponsored content or promotions, without any compensation to you.

So Instagram has listened, however they still need to make money. Since they offer a free app they have to create revenue somewhere.  I guess in the coming months we will see what their idea is.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s